DSP Leadership

The Deaton Scholars Program takes pride in empowering students through leadership roles, the program directorship role, and as members of our Scholar Advisory Board. Each year we adapt our model to best fit the needs and interests of our students. Each semester the University of Missouri program is organized by a Program Director(s), the Scholar Advisory Board, Drs. Deaton, and logistical support provided by CAFNR International Programs. Likewise, a team of Faculty Advisory Board members and the Faculty and Staff Resource Network provide support to the scholars in their learning and project activities.

DSP Leadership – Spring 2021 

The DSP Program Director and Scholar Advisory Board assists in all aspects of planning and implementing events and other activities for the Deaton Scholars Program. Many of our SAB members also serve as coaches to DSP teams.

For general questions, please contact the Deaton Scholars Program leadership directly: DeatonScholars@missouri.edu.

Program Director: 
Summer LaRose
Email: sdh5zf@umsystem.edu

Deaton Scholars Program Director, Deaton Institute
Wildlife Research Biologist, School of Natural Resources


Scholar Advisory Board (Spring 2021)
  Adrienne Pyeatt
Majors: Statistics, Psychology
Minor: Biology
  Amber Jones
Scholar Advisory Board member Tuka Barituka Bekee
Ph.D. Agricultural and Applied Economics
Interdisciplinary Minor in International Development
Graduate Certificate in Society and Sustainability
Blessing Okafor
Ph.D. Communication
Certificate in Qualitative Research
Scholar Advisory Board member Colby Colby Thornton
B.S. Business Administration, Finance and Banking Emphasis
Minor: Political Science
Scholar Advisory Board member Courtney Courtney Widmer
B.S. Business Administration, Marketing Emphasis
Scholar Advisory Board member Emma F Emma Foust
B.H.S. Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences, Clinical Laboratory Science Emphasis
  Emma Leary
B.S. Plant Sciences
Jenifer Pilz


Scholar Advisory Board member Lane Lane Cargile

B.A. International Affairs (Latin America)

B.A. Political Science

Minors: Spanish, Peace Studies, and Service Learning

Scholar Advisory Board member Rana Md. Rafiqul Islam Rana
Ph.D. Textile and Apparel Management


Former Program Directors/Program Leaders:

The Deaton Scholar Program is led by people who have a passion for addressing the challenges of the world and alleviating the suffering of hunger and poverty. We recognize their hard work with the Deaton Scholars Program and beyond:

Holly Enowski, Fall 2019 and Spring 2020 
Email: hjem9c@mail.missouri.edu / holly.enowski@gmail.com
Undergraduate Degree: Science and Agricultural Journalism (Strategic Communication)
Minors: Business, Agricultural Economics, and International Agriculture
Yanu E. Prasetyo, Fall 2019 and Spring 2020
Email: yepw33@mail.missouri.edu / yanuprasetyo85@gmail.com
Graduate Degree: Rural Sociology
Jenifer Pilz, Fall 2019
Email: pilzjs@missouri.edu
Technology Resource Associate and Coordinator of the Language Resource Lab, University of Missouri
Yassine Dguidegue
Maria Rodriguez Alcalá
County Engagement Specialist in Community Economic Development
University of Missouri
Chuka Emezue, Spring and Fall 2017
Ph.D. Candidate in Public Health